The UK Statistics Authority warmly welcomes the reappointment of Professor Sir Roger Jowell CBE, Partha Dasgupta, and Moira Gibb CBE as non-executive members of the UK Statistics Authority with effect from 1 February 2011.

Professor Sir Roger Jowell will continue to serve as Deputy Chair of the UK Statistics Authority with responsibility for oversight of the UK statistical system.

Speaking today, Sir Michael Scholar, Chair of the UK Statistics Authority, welcomed their re-appointment:

“I very much welcome today’s announcement by the Minister for the Cabinet Office of the re-appointment of Roger Jowell, Partha Dasgupta, and Moira Gibb. The UK Statistics Authority has benefited enormously from the invaluable contributions they have made, as well as the insight they have brought, to many different aspects of the work of the Authority over the past few years. We are all delighted that we will be continuing to work together.”

For more information regarding the subject of this Press Release please contact: 07786 892263 or 07971 186710.

Notes for Editors:

  1. The UK Statistics Authority is an independent body operating at arm’s length from government as a non-ministerial department, directly accountable to Parliament. It was established on 1 April 2008 by the Statistics and Registration Service Act 2007. The  Authority’s statutory objective is to promote and safeguard the production and publication of official statistics that serve the public good. It is also required to promote and safeguard the quality and comprehensiveness of official statistics, and ensure good practice in relation to official statistics. The UK Statistics Authority has two main functions:
  • oversight of the Office for National Statistics (ONS) – its executive office; and
  • independent scrutiny (monitoring and assessment) of all official statistics produced in the UK.
  1. The Chair of the UK Statistics Authority is Sir Michael Scholar KCB. Sir Michael was appointed Chair of the Authority by Her Majesty the Queen in September 2007 following open competition, and with parliamentary approval.
  2. The other non-executive members are: Professor Sir Roger Jowell CBE (who occupies the post of Deputy Chair with responsibility for oversight of the UK official statistics system); Lord Rowe-Beddoe of Kilgetty (who occupies the Deputy Chair post with responsibility for the governance of ONS); Dr. Colette Bowe, Partha Dasgupta; Moira Gibb CBE, Professor David Rhind CBE FRS FBA, and Sir Jon Shortridge KCB.
  3. The Authority has three executive members and they are: Jil Matheson (the National Statistician); Richard Alldritt (the Authority’s Head of Assessment) and Stephen Penneck (the Director General of ONS).

Professor Sir Roger Jowell

  1. Professor Sir Roger Jowell CBE is a British social scientist and academic. In 1969, he co-founded Social and Community Planning Research (SCPR), which is now the London-based National Centre for Social Research. Sir Roger is Research Professor at City University London and is the Founder Director of its Centre for Comparative Social Surveys. In 2005 he and his team won the Descartes Prize “for excellence in collaborative scientific research”, and he was knighted for services to social sciences in the 2008 New Year’s Honours. Sir Roger occupies the Authority’s Deputy Chair post with responsibility for advising the Authority on its responsibility for promoting and safeguarding the production and publication of all official statistics across the UK. Professor Sir Roger Jowell has been re-appointed until 31 August 2012.

Partha Dasgupta

  1. Partha Dasgupta was appointed as Chairman of The Pensions Advisory Service in January 2010. He joined the Pension Protection Fund as Director of Investment and Finance in 2005 and served as its Chief Executive and Accounting Officer from 2006 to 2009. Before this, Partha Dasgupta spent 10 years at Barclays Global Investors, latterly as Managing Director of Fixed Income Europe and member of the European Executive Committee. He is also currently a non-executive member of the Save the Children (UK) Investment Committee and a Director of the Superannuation Arrangements of the University of London (SAUL) Trustee Company. Partha Dasgupta began his career as an analyst at the Prudential. He has been re-appointed until 31 January 2013.

Moira Gibb

  1. Moira Gibb is Chief Executive Officer of Camden Borough Council and has had a distinguished career in local government. She currently chairs the Government Social Work Reform Board, implementing the recommendations of the Social Work Taskforce which she also chaired. She is a director of the London Marathon. She is a former President of the Association of Directors of Social Services and was appointed CBE in 2002 for services to social services. Moira Gibb has been re-appointed until 31 January 2013.