Our Structure

The United Kingdom Statistics Authority (UKSA) is our governing body. Sir Robert Chote is the Chair of the Authority Board. Professor Sir Ian Diamond is the ONS Chief Executive, National Statistician and Permanent Secretary.

The National Statistician’s team comprises seven direct reports:

  • Mike Keoghan, Deputy National Statistician for Economic, Social and Environmental Statistics
  • Alison Pritchard, Deputy National Statistician for Data Capability
  • Emma Rourke, Deputy National Statistician for Health, Population and Methods
  • Pete Benton, Deputy National Statistician for Special Projects
  • Philippa Bonay, Director for Operations
  • Tom Taylor, Chief Financial Officer
  • Rob Bumpstead, Chief of Staff

There are 15 Directors:

  • Darren Morgan, Director of Economic Statistics, Production and Analysis
  • Grant Fitzner, Chief Economist and Director of Macroeconomic Statistics and Analysis
  • Jason Zawadzki (TP), Director of Economic Statistics Change
  • Ruth Studley (TP), Director of Health Analysis & Pandemic Insights and Director of Census and Data Collection Transformation Programme (CDCTP) Enablement
  • Liz McKeown, Director of Public Policy Analysis
  • Simon Sandford-Taylor, Director of Digital Services and Technology
  • Sarah Henry, Director of Methodology and Quality
  • Fiona James, Director of Data Growth and Operations
  • Osama Rahman, Director of Data Science Campus
  • Philippa Bonay, Director of People and Business Services
  • Tom Taylor, Director of Finance, Planning and Performance and Chief Financial Officer
  • Sarah Moore (TP), Director of Communications and Digital Publishing
  • Jason Yaxley, Director of Integrated Data Services Programme
  • Alex Lambert, Director of Survey Operations
  • Jennet Woolford, Director of Population Statistics

There are three other key posts that have a dotted reporting line to the National Statistician because of the nature of their roles:

  • Head of Internal Audit, Louise Love (directly reports to Tom Taylor)
  • Chief Security Officer, Keith Nicholson (directly reports to Philippa Bonay)
  • Data Protection Officer, Ross Young (directly reports to Emma Rourke)
Back to top