National Statistician’s Crime Statistics Advisory Committee

The National Statistician’s Crime Statistics Advisory Committee is a non-statutory body established by the National Statistician.

It was originally established as the Crime Statistics Advisory Committee following a recommendation from the National Statistician’s Review of Crime Statistics: England and Wales (published 6 June 2011) to establish an independent advisory committee on crime statistics.

In March 2015, the National Statistician agreed with the Home Secretary to re-establish the Committee with revised terms of reference that focus on the Committee’s accountability to the National Statistician. Professor Sir Adrian Smith was asked to chair the re-established committee. It was re-named the National Statistician’s Crime Statistics Advisory Committee.

Please use the related links section on this page to view both current and previous Committee minutes, papers, and correspondence.

The Committee has 16 members, covering a wide range of interests and disciplines.

Permanent members:

  • David Blunt – Home Office
  • Steve Williams – National Crime Registrar, Home Office
  • Roma Chappell – Office for National Statistics
  • Steve Ellerd-Elliott – Ministry of Justice
  • Jeff Farrar – National Police Chiefs’ Council lead for Crime Statistics
  • Glyn Jones – Welsh Government
  • Michael Warren – Home Office
  • Tom Winsor – Her Majesty’s Inspectorate of Constabulary

Non-executive members:

  • Professor Allan Brimicombe – University of East London
  • Junaid Gharda – Office of the Police & Crime Commissioner for Staffordshire
  • Gavin Hales – Police Foundation
  • Professor Mike Levi – University of Cardiff
  • Professor Chris Lewis – University of Portsmouth
  • Patricia Mayhew OBE – Independent criminological consultant
  • Professor Stephen Shute – University of Sussex


National Statistician’s Crime Statistics Advisory Committee Terms of Reference