National Statistician’s Crime Statistics Advisory Committee Membership

The Committee has 16 members, covering a wide range of interests and disciplines.


Professor Sir Adrian Smith – Deputy Chair UK Statistics Authority

Permanent members:

  • David Blunt – Home Office
  • Steve Bond – National Crime Registrar, Home Office
  • Roma Chappell – Office for National Statistics
  • Steve Ellerd-Elliott – Ministry of Justice
  • Jeff Farrar – National Police Chiefs’ Council lead for Crime Statistics
  • Glyn Jones – Welsh Government
  • Michael Warren – Home Office
  • Tom Winsor – Her Majesty’s Inspectorate of Constabulary

Non-executive members:

  • Professor Allan Brimicombe – University of East London
  • Junaid Gharda – Office of the Police & Crime Commissioner for Staffordshire
  • Gavin Hales – Police Foundation
  • Professor Mike Levi – University of Cardiff
  • Professor Chris Lewis – University of Portsmouth
  • Patricia Mayhew OBE – Independent criminological consultant
  • Professor Stephen Shute – University of Sussex


National Statistician’s Crime Statistics Advisory Committee Terms of Reference